US State DepartmentWASHINGTON, D.C. /eNewsChannels/ — The Director of the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy Dr. John P. Holdren and Russian Minister of Education and Science Dimitry Livanov will co-chair the fourth meeting of the U.S.-Russia Bilateral Presidential Commission (BPC) Working Group on Science and Technology Cooperation on April 4, 2013 in Moscow.

Established in 2009 to strengthen bilateral research cooperation, the Science and Technology Working Group will identify opportunities to conduct cooperative research on natural hazards, climate science, and nanotechnology. The delegates will also explore ways to promote cooperation across a wider range of disciplines and discuss opportunities to facilitate cooperation at the university level.

Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary of State for Science, Technology and Health Jonathan Margolis will lead a new sub-group on enhancing research cooperation. The subgroup will work to remove obstacles to cooperation such as customs duties and taxes, identify mechanisms to facilitate coordinated research, and discuss ways the United States and Russia can work together to promote research integrity.

The U.S.-Russia Bilateral Presidential Commission is the premier forum for broadening and strengthening cooperation between our governments and people. President Obama and President Medvedev established the BPC in July 2009 to improve coordination between our countries and to explore new opportunities for partnership. The BPC framework includes 20 working groups, including the Working Group on Science and Technology Cooperation.

For further information, go to our website (